Which Witch Hunt?
A Pathfinder for Honors English 10

The purpose of this research is to reflect on the conditions under which tthe Puritan writing took place and to connect the experience described in The Crucible to that of other people.  Likewise, you will be practicing the elements of good research and writing.  Mr. Jornlin has provided a link to your assignment here.  Also, there is a copy of the rubric to help you make sure that you are following the proper guidelines as you write your paper.

If you would like to learn more about the concept of witch hunts or societal hysteria, follow the links on this pathfinder. It will help you find information in your school library media center, on the Internet, and in the community about witch hunts.

Books Magazines
Internet Sites
Videos And Databases
Dewey Numbers
Keywords Phrases

Print Resources-Books and Magazines

There are several excellent books about the concept of witch hunting. A few of the books are listed below. To locate more books, use the suggested keywords and phrases to search the online library catalog.  I have also listed books available through the Kewaskum Public Library.  If you choose to pick one of these books, let me know and we can have it sent here within a day.


NON-FICTION BOOKS AVAILABLE AT KHS
In the Days of the Salem Witchcraft Trials by Marilynne K. Roach, 1996.
Call Number : 133.4 ROA
The Salem Witch Trails by Earle Rice.
Call Number : 133.4 RIC

The Colonial Period, 1607-1750 by Brenda Stalcup
Call Number : 973.2 COL

Japanese Americans Struggle for Equality by Liane Hirabayashi.
Call Number :  305.895 HIR

Joe McCarthy and the Press by Edwin R. Bayley.
Call Number 973.918 BAY

NON-FICTION BOOKS AVAILABLE AT KEWASKUM PUBLIC

The Salem Witch Trials : a day-byday chronicle of a community under siege by Marilynee K. Roach
Call Number :  133.43 R53

Witch-hunt : Mysteries of the Salem Witch Trials by Marc Aronson
Call Number : YA 133.43 Aro

The Salem Witch Trials Reader by Frances Hill
Call Number : 133.43097445 H645s

Korematsu v. United States : Japanese-American Internment by Susan Dudley Gold
Call Number : YA 342.7308 G563

Looking Like the Enemy : My Story of Imprisonment in Japanese-American Internment Camps  
by Mary Matsuda  Gruenewald
Call Number : 940.531 G886L

Confinement and Ethnicity : an Overview of World War II Japanese American Relocation Sites
Call Number : 940.547273 C748


Farewell to Manzanar : a True Story of Japanese American Experience During and After World War II Internment by Jean Wakatsuki
Call Number : 940.5472 H81

Shooting Star : the Brief Arc of Joseph McCarthy by Tom Wicker
Call Number 921 M123w

The Age of Anxiety : McCarthyism to Terrorism by Haynes Bonner Johnson
Call Number 973.921092 J67a

Many Are the Crimes : McCarthyism in America by Ellen Schrecker


Return to Top

Online Resources--Internet Sites

The Web sites listed on this page have been previewed and selected for this topic. If additional information is needed, use the suggested keywords and phrases to search the Internet.

Salem Witch Trial Sites:

 Secrets of the Dead : The Witches CurseThis site is from PBS and allows you to examine the evidence and crime of the Salem Witch trials.  Pay close attention to the interactive map which has a timeline on the bottom where you can follow the trials as well as links within the timeline to learn more about the players.  It also has an interview with a behavioral psychologist about how and why it all happened.

Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription Project - This site has original personal documents like diaries and letters, biographies and maps from the time period.  

The Salem Witch Trials 1692 : A Chronology of Events.  Contains the timeline of events for the trials.  It has quotes from the accused as well as progression of the accusations.

The Salem Witch Trials : The World Behind the Hysteria - sponsored by Discovery School, this site gives background to the trials and the attitudes about witchcraft and religion that exitsted at the time.

Salem Witchcraft Hysteria -  This site based on actual historical facts leads you through the actual events by virtually making you one of the participants in the trials.  Need to follow lots of "pull prompts" but a very good site.

The Salem Witch Trials of 1692 - This website gives lots of background from a chronology to the procedure in witchcraft cases.  There is even a Jeopardy Game for when you have researched to your hearts content!

Japanese-American Internment Sites

Exploring the Japanese American Internment Through Film and the Internet - This site begins with round up of Japanese-Americans in WWII , the camp experience and the impact and aftermath of the action.

Japenese Americans and the U.S. Constitution. This gives a pictorial essay containing examples of attitudes during the Japanese-American internment.  Be sure to click on the photos to learn more information!

Life Interupted : The Japanese American Experience in WWII Arkansas -  A joint project by University of Arkansas Little Rock and the Japanese American National Museum.  It has pictures, links, and information about the internment camps in Arkansas.

Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives - Contains digitized pictures from internment camps throughout the U.S. 

Digital History - Asian American Voices  - Great information but be sure to scroll down to part 3 for what your information.  It gives accurate source information and speeches concerning the internment.

Internment Timeline /Children of the Camps PBS - a historical timeline for the internment details how WWII had an impact on our actions.

Children of the Camps/ Resources and Links - These will guide you to more information about the camps. 

Ansel Adams’s Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar  - Library of Congress collection of Ansel Adam's photos about the internment.  Be sure to click on the spot that says "gallery" at the bottom of the page.  From there notice that the top of the page has different categories for "daily life," "portraits," "agricultural scene," etc. across the top.

McCARTHYISM

Sparticus School Net
 - This site gives background into McCarthyism including main characters, the Hollywood black list and the House Committee on Un-American Activities.

Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library - Documents from Eisenhower's presidency that relate to McCarthyism including letters, diaries and memos about the topic.

About McCarthyism - Written as background for a modern American Poetry class, this site gives a good solid background on the controversy and how it impacted society.

Freedom : A History of US - PBS site that explains the Red Scare and McCarthy's fall from power.  It has links to documents, images and sounds.

Edward R. Murrow - as one of the few reporters to challenge McCarthy, Murrow stands out as a brave jounalist.  This site gives background into who he is.  The last link at the top is about how he impacted McCarthyism.


Return to Top

Videos and Databases

Through United Streaming, our library has located videos that apply to your topic.  To watch them you simply need to come the library and let Ms. D. know you want to watch one of them and she will broadcast it to your computer screen.  Our library has the following multimedia resources on your topic:

American History - The Colonial Period  - The section on the Salem Witch Trials is thirty minutes in length and describes the elements that came together to create the hysteria of the trials.

Portrait of America - a 30 minute clip about  Asian American families that were affected by Japanese Internment during WWII.  Note: it is from the 1950's but it interviews a couple that was at one of the camps.

Salem Witch Trials - from United Learning this clip is 25 minutes long and discusses the religious intolerance that lead to the Salem Witch Trials. 

Databases

You can use the following database links to research your topic.  Use the keywords below as well as delimiters "and," "not" and "or" as well as (  ) to limit your search.

Badgerlink - for the best results choose "Ebscohost"  next "Ebscohost Web (all databases) and then "MasterFile Premeir" to find the most information.

ABC CLIO US History  - Login and Password are 41981student.

SIRS - Has many current articles on all of the topics.  Login : WI0720  Password: 53040

Return to Top

Dewey Decimal Numbers to Browse

If you want to browse the shelves in the library to locate information about your various topics, look for these numbers:

 133.4 (Salem Witch Trials)                            921 (Biographies - Joseph McCarthy)

973.2 (The Colonial Period)                            

940.547 (Japanese Internment)

Return to Top

Keywords and Phrases for Searching

Do you need additional information? Try using these words and phrases to search Magazine Index, the library online catalog, CD-ROM or print encyclopedias or the World Wide Web:

You will need to use delimiters of "and" "or" and "not" as well as ( ) to narrow your search.

Japanese Internment            Cold War at Home        Joseph McCarthy        House Un-American Activities                                                                                                                         Committee

Salem Witchcraft trials        Witch trials                   

Return to Top